Vehicle registration must take place within 45 days after
you move to Myrtle Beach if you are bringing a motor vehicle into the state. This
is really pretty generous considering many states only allow 30 days before you
risk getting a ticket or fined.
There are several things you must do before trotting down to
the DMV to get your auto tag. First you need to show you are a permanent resident
by either renting or buying property in the area. Once you have a permanent
address, you can get your South Carolina drivers license and register your car.
You will need to complete Form 400, Application for Certificate of Title/Registration, which you can download from the SCDMV website. Fill in the form and then take it with you to the DMV.
You will also need to show proof of insurance for South
Carolina. If your insurance company can operate in the state, be sure to change
your address with them before applying for South Carolina registration.
Otherwise, you’ll need to obtain auto insurance from a company that is
registered in South Carolina. There is no car inspection necessary as South Carolina does not require any smog or emission inspections on vehicles.
When you go to the DMV office, be sure and have with you the vehicle title and registration from the state you have moved from, the completed Form 400, and your receipt from the Horry County tax collector that you have paid the personal property tax on your vehicle.
Fees vary for the type of
vehicle you have, you age, and so on. It’s best to check with the SCDMV for fees that they charge.
There are four South Carolina Department of
Motor Vehicle offices in Horry County. All of them issue both drivers licenses
and auto tags. If you need to call ahead, each DMV phone number is listed below
for that office. You can check the state website to make sure you have all the necessary forms and documents
before you go to the office so you don’t have to make a second trip.
1200 21st Avenue North
Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
4103 Highway 701 North
Conway, SC 29526
Myrtle Beach Near Market Common
1330 Howard Parkway
Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
North Myrtle Beach/Little River
107 Highway 57 North
Little River, SC 29566
All Horry County DMV offices are open weekdays Monday
through Friday and are closed Saturday and Sunday. You do not need a
reservation, but you can get an idea of how long you will wait by going to the
SC DMV website.
Here are some useful links to help you get everything
Return to top – Vehicle Registration and Auto Tag
Please note that LoveMyrtleBeach.net is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.